## 2023 Washington History Day State Contest Special Award Winners

Award	Student(s)	Title	School	Teacher(s)
Naval Order of the US, Pacific Northwest Commandery – Naval History Award	Finn Bould, Mia-Theresa Hadelich, Tyler Hail, Clark Kirkman	Passing the Pole: The groundbreaking trip of the USS Nautilus	Kamiakin Middle School	Marcy Martin
Lyle L. Nelson Research Award – Junior Division (Naval History)	Kara Doughty	Robert Smalls: Navigating Beyond the Frontier of Slavery	Chief Umtuch Middle School	Beth Doughty
National Maritime Historical Society Award – Junior Division First Place (Maritime History)	Oviya Raja	The Panama Canal: Carving a Path Through the Frontier	Skyview Middle School	Nicole Maleki
National Maritime Historical Society Award – Junior Division Second Place (Maritime History)			Northshore Middle School	Corey Martin
National Maritime Historical Society Award – Senior Division First Place (Maritime History)	Sarah Bickford	Exploration of Antarctica	The Delta High School	John Keaney
National Maritime Historical Society Award – Senior Division Second Place (Maritime History)	Gavin Belles	The Attack on Pearl Harbor	West Valley Innovation Center	Bradley Liebrecht
Chinese or Chinese American History Award	Calvin Chang	The Murder of Vincent Chin and the Activism that Crossed Frontiers in Social Justice	Northshore Middle School	Alan Plummer
Chinese or Chinese American History Award	Isabella Guan, Sarah Nie	Chinese Exclusion Act	Kamiakin Middle School	Marcy Martin
Corps of Discovery Award	Sarah Archibald, Alexander Munson	Sacajawea	Liberty Senior High School	Peter Kurtz
Frances Anderson Backus Award (Women's History)	Andrew Da, Brandon Nie, Bryan Nie	Forgotten Frontiers: The Women Behind the Atomic Bomb	North Creek High School	Rhonda McGee
Dr. Carol Coe Award (Women's History)	Rebecca Carlson	Wilma Rudolph	Royal Middle School	Emily Ovenell
Janet Barker Footh Memorial Award (Women's History)	Autumn Kern	The Fight for the Franchise: How Women of Color Faced the Frontier of Gender Equality	Mt Spokane High School	Luke Thomas
Laura B. Gowen Award (Colonial American History)	Kadee Walker	Charters of Freedom: John Locke	Liberty Middle School	Sharon Morgan
William James Bain Jr. Memorial Award (Colonial American History)	Lujia Dong	The Boston Massacre: Propaganda, Viewpoints, and Escalation	Heatherwood Middle School	Samuel Blair

## 2023 Washington History Day State Contest Special Award Winners

Award	Student(s)	Title	School	Teacher(s)
Representative Ruth Kagi Award (American Government History)	Carlee Catlin	Irlee Catlin Eleanor Roosevelt: The First Lady of Frontiers		Stephen Hart
Senator Mark Mullet Award (American Government History)	Katie Ng	The FSA Photo Project: Pushing the Frontiers of Photography	Woodinville High School	Kimberly Matthews
Susan and Bart Lynam Award (Strong Leadership in History)	Clara Wyckoff Clara Barton's Two Frontiers: Using the American Red Cross to Redefine Humanitarian Aid While Working Towards Equality		Prosser High School	Kila Salyers Smith
E Clampus Vitus Award – Junior Division (Local History)	Angelina Keo, Michelle Lee, Jiya Vahkaria	Fife School: Pioneering A New Beginning	Meeker Middle School	John Buchinger
E Clampus Vitus Award – Senior Division (Local History)	Amy Du, Antonia Kwan, Brietta Yi	Nidoto Nai Yoni, "Let It Not Happen Again": Navigating Belonging in the Frontier of Japanese American Identity	Newport Senior High School	Robert Valaas
Washington State Archives Regional/Local History Award (Use of regional/local archives)	Kaitlin Medina	Occupy Fort Lawton! Reclaiming Seattle's Frontier for Tribal Justice	Vancouver iTech Preparatory	John Zingale
Washington State Archives Regional/Local History Award (Use of regional/local archives)	Cooper Haymes, Cora Hoyt, Elijah Macht	Hidden History: Planting a Legacy in Washington	Vancouver iTech Preparatory	John Zingale
State Archivist's Award (Use of State Government archives)	John Bannon	The Seattle Jazz Frontier: The Success of the African American Community in Shaping the American Identity	Tesla STEM High School	Andrew lvy
Digital Archives Award (Use of digital archives)	Ashlan Chang, Rachel Kelley, Melinda Urban, Risa Wada	Women in Baseball: The All-American Girls Professional Baseball League	Lake Washington High School	Jill Berge and Maik Hollinger
Washington State Historical Society Award – Junior Division (Washington State History)	Drew Mixon	An Examination of Frontierism and Tribal Land Seizures in Washington State	Kopachuk Middle School	Kayla Frank
Washington State Historical Society Award – Senior Division (Washington State History)	Kaitlin Medina	Occupy Fort Lawton! Reclaiming Seattle's Frontier for Tribal Justice	Vancouver iTech Preparatory	John Zingale
Washington State Teen Historian Award (Outstanding Senior Division Competitor)	Aubrey Grier	Politics, Punk, and Empowerment: The Impact of the Riot Grrrl Movement	Prairie High School	Beth Doughty

## **2023** Washington History Day Teachers of the Year

Award	Winning Teacher	School
Washington History Day Teacher of the Year – Junior Division	Alan Plummer	Northshore Middle School
Washington History Day Teacher of the Year – Senior Division	Scott Barber	Liberty Bell Jr./Sr. High School

## 2023 Washington History Day State Contest Outstanding Schools

Award	Winning School	Teacher
Washington History Day Outstanding School –	Evergreen Middle School	Nicole Kesler
Junior Division		
Evergreen Middle School State Contest Students:	Tanya Acharya, Ishanvi Agarwal, Ananya	Akurathi, Advik Arun, Toprak Celikel, Ankita Datta, Neha Garde,
Vivian Gu, Emily He, Arnav Kaja, Surabhi Koundinya	i, Ila Lu, Katie Meng, Aditya Menon, Kesha	v Mohan, Kaylin Moon, Abhinav Nandakishor, Arjun Pai, Aashritl
Pisupati, Shipra Prajapati, Simon Rashevsky, Akanks	sha Revuru, Reva Sayana, Ved Singh, Prah	alad Talur, Anisha Upasani, Naithik Vutukuru, Grace Zheng, Sixia
Zheng, April Zhong		
Washington History Day Outstanding School –	Tesla STEM High School	Andrew Ivy
Senior Division		
Tesla STEM High School State Contest Students: Jo	ohn Bannon, Bhowal Druhin, Anson Chen,	Ziang Chen, Teddy Dong, William Gong, Brooke North, Samanth
Novitski, Nakul Rajpal, Saachi Sharma, Prakshi Shuk	da, Arihant Singh, Cindy Yang, Ethan Yu	