2022 Washington History Day State Contest Special Award Winners

| Award | Student(s) | Title | School | Teacher(s) |
|--|---|---|----------------------------------|----------------------------------|
| Naval Order of the US, Pacific Northwest Commandery – Naval History Award | Kevin Yu | Aircraft Carriers: A Great Weapon for Peace | Evergreen Middle School | Nicole Kesler and Nick Hecker |
| Lyle L. Nelson Research Award – Junior Division | Pranav Tripathi | Pirates of the Mediterranean: The First Barbary War | Evergreen Middle School | Nicole Kesler and Nick Hecker |
| Lyle L. Nelson Research Award – Senior Division | Mitchel Wilsey | The Question of the Manhattan Project | Mt. Spokane High School | Luke Thomas |
| National Maritime Historical Society Award – Junior Division First Place | Allison Hartliep, Madison Smith, and Molly Peters | The Pig War: A Peaceful Debate Between Britain and America over the Ownership of the San Juan Islands | Housel Middle School | Dean Smith |
| National Maritime Historical Society Award – Junior Division Second Place | Dhaani Pohuja | Shunned from Sanctuary: The Tragedy of the St. Louis | Evergreen Middle School | Nicole Kesler and Nick Hecker |
| Chinese or Chinese American History Award – Junior Division | Andrea Uribe and Jordyn Vongnath Fair | The Treaty of Nanjing 1842 | Pleasant Valley Middle School | Irene Soohoo |
| Chinese or Chinese American History Award – Senior Division | Olivia Droubay and Reese Ho | Blacklisting Yellow Bodies: Debate and Diplomacy | Vancouver iTech Preparatory | John Zingale |
| Chinese History Merit Award | Enoch Lam and Jade | The Boxer Rebellion | Evergreen Middle School | Nicole Kesler and Nick Hecker |
| Frances Anderson Backus Award (Women's History) | Emilie Desilet | Marie Curie: Defying Norms and Sparking Debate Over Women's Rights | Northshore Middle School | Corey Martin |
| Dr. Carol Coe Award (Women's History) | Lily Moskowitz, Alexandra Mallios, Charlotte Moskowitz | Uncle Tom's Cabin: "The Book That Made This Great War." | Lake Washington High School | Jill Berge |
| Janet Barker Footh Memorial Award (Women's History) | Izzy Antrosio | Breaking the Bottle: The Social Change for Women During Prohibition | Canyon Park Middle School | Craig Tupper |
| Laura B. Gowen Award (Outstanding Junior Division Entry) | Aubrey Grier | Makah Whaling Rights: A Moral Debate of Cultural Preservation | Chief Umtuch Middle School | Beth Doughty |
| William James Bain Jr. Memorial Award (Outstanding Junior Division Entry) | Cooper Brix | The Munich Agreement: Diplomatic Success or Consequential Failure? | Leota Middle School | John Moore |

2022 Washington History Day State Contest Special Award Winners

| Award | Student(s) | Title | School | Teacher(s) |
|---|--|---|---|----------------|
| Representative Ruth Kagi Award (Outstanding Senior Division Entry) | Jayanth Gorrepati | Dredd Scott v Stanford: The Case that Changed the United States Forever | Union High School | |
| Senator Mark Mullet Award (Outstanding Senior Division Entry) | Amy Du and Antonia Kwan | The Caribbean Dream: How the Ostend Manifesto Redefined Foreign Diplomacy in an Era of American Expansion | Newport Senior High School | John Moore |
| Susan and Bart Lynam Award (Strong Leadership in History) | Kaitlin Medina | Free Angela of her Trial: The Debate Over Angela Davis's Legacy | Vancouver iTech Preparatory | John Zingale |
| E Clampus Vitus Award – Junior Division | Cora Hoyt and Cooper Haymes | Segregated Seattle: The Failures of the Housing System | Vancouver iTech Preparatory | John Zingale |
| E Clampus Vitus Award – Senior Division | Paige Ogden and Riley Ogden | Education for All: The Debate Over Inclusion for All Students | Castle Rock High School | Stephen Hart |
| Washington State Archives Regional/Local History Award – Junior Division | Jimmy Park and Jaxson Williams | The Debate and Battle Over the Restructure of Indian Treaty Rights in Washington State | Housel Middle School | Dean Smith |
| Washington State Archives Regional/Local History Award – Senior Division | Connor O'Rourke, Ben Moskalensky, Alec Rothkowitz, and David Soto | Forming New Frontiers in Seattle: The Debate for Fair Employment at Boeing from 1935-1949 | Tesla STEM High School | Andrew Ivy |
| State Archivist's Award | Andrew Da | The Broken Promise: Debate and Diplomacy in the Northwest Native American Fight for Fishing Rights | North Creek High School | Rhonda McGee |
| Digital Archives Award | Clara Lundberg | The Waco Siege and the Debate Surrounding Effective Hostage Negotiations | Northshore Middle | Corey Martin |
| Washington State Historical Society Award – Junior Division | Thomas Gust | United States v Washington: The Right to Fish | Seattle Academy of Arts and Sciences | Tyler Hartanov |
| Washington State Historical Society Award – Senior Division | Reeso Ho and Olivia Droubay | Blacklisting Yellow Bodies: Debate and Diplomacy | Vancouver iTech Preparatory | John Zingale |
| Washington State Teen Historian Award | Vibhaakshayaa Sathish Kumar | Seattle's Soul After Internment | North Creek High School | Rhonda McGee |

| Award | Winning Teacher | School |
|---|-----------------|-----------------------------|
| Washington History Day Teacher of the Year – Junior Division | Kim Matthews | Bothell High School |
| Washington History Day Teacher of the Year – Senior Division | John Zingale | Vancouver iTech Preparatory |

2022 Washington History Day State Contest Outstanding Schools

| Award | Winning School | Teacher |
|---|-------------------------|-------------------------------|
| Washington History Day Outstanding School – | Evergreen Middle School | Nicole Kesler and Nick Hecker |
| Junior Division | | |

Evergreen Middle School State Contest Students: Alex Chen, Aashka Contractor, Rachel D'Sousa, Kashika Durairaj, Juliette Justus, Aadesh Kumar, Kurup Dhruv, Enoch Lam, Jade Lam, Brooke Lin, Angelina Lu, Anhad Mahal, Arnav Mittal, Rishika Pachava, Dhaani Pohuja, Shranaya Rangaprasad, Anika Samuel, Abbas Shakir, Thea Sima, Saketh Singamsetty, Sri Sistla, Zoe Tang, Pranav Tripathi, Madeline Tsai, Rohit Venkatesan, Leo Wang, Sophie Wang, Hannah Wilenzick, Cindy Yang, Keviin Yu, Yuanrui Zhao, Winston Zhou

| Washington History Day Outstanding School – | The Delta High School | David Blacketer, John Keaney, Adrian Paulakis |
|---|-----------------------|---|
| Senior Division | | |

The Delta High School State Contest Students: Sebastian Aviles, Wyatt Bucher, Jackson Burnett, Mario Camacho Jr., Eireana Frantzich, Lydia Galle, Brandon Hall, Garrett Hogan, Mark Hopkins, Anna Houtari, Grace Marsh, Isabel Melendrez, Lincoln Nolte, Ainsely Peery, Mallory Peite, Leopoldo Serna, Sikander Sohi, John Solomon, Amber Van Unen, Neveah Villarreal, EJ Wallace, Lore Walter, Hailey Yunker